Vancouver is the barometer of copper innovation #2

Events and learning at COM 2019 hosting Copper 2019 in addition to the main Conference streams are:

  • Plenary session
  • Short Courses
  • Networking at the Trade Show
  • Poster session
  • Industrial Tours
  • Conference Banquet & MetSoc Awards.

Organisational structure

Metsoc, the 58th annual Conference of Metallurgists (COM 2019) and CIM are honoured to host Copper 2019, marking a milestone in the Copper Conference series with the 10th Edition. The success and outcome of the Copper Conference is the work of the six leading International Professional Societies (IIMCh, GDMB, MMIJ, TMS, SME, MetSoc) who tirelessly persevere in bringing forth symposia of the highest quality to the delegates. In 2019, we are proud to add NFSOC and SAIMM as official co-organising societies for Copper 2019. The Conference Chairs and Organising Committee include:

COM 2019 Chair:

Edouard Asselin, University of British Columbia

Copper 2019 Chair:

Joël Kapusta, BBA Inc.

Copper 2019 Technical Chair:

Ahmad Ghahreman, Queen’s University

Short Course Chair:

Peter Lind, Newmont Goldcorp

Co-organising Societies

The Metallurgy and Materials Society of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (MetSoc-CIM), Canada

Society of Metallurgists and Miners e.V. (GDMB), Germany

Chilean Institute of Mining Engineers (IIMCh), Chile

The Mining and Materials Processing Institute of Japan (MMIJ), Japan

The NonFerrous Metals Society of China (NFSOC), China

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), United States

Southern African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (SAIMM), South Africa

Society for Mining, Metallugy, and Exploration (SME), United States.

COM + Copper 2019